Panic! At The Disco at the Frank Erwin Center Performance Review

 Background Info

Last night, I attended a Panic! at the Disco concert with my sister and my sister’s friend. The show was scheduled for Sunday, April 2nd at 7 p.m. and took place at the Frank Erwin Center. P!ATD had two opening bands, Saint Motel and Misterwives, so they didn’t come on until about 9 p.m. P!ATD is touring for their 2016 album, “Death of a Bachelor”. Brendon Urie recorded that album right before his wedding, so the title is fitting. I was really into P!ATD when I was 13, which was 6 years ago so I was futilely hoping Urie would play more of their older stuff, but of course the show was focused on Death of a Bachelor. That being said, Urie can put on an amazing show. Even though I wasn’t familiar with a lot of the tracks played, I had an amazing time.

Highlights

Nine in the Afternoon

This was my very favorite track that Urie played because this was the song that got me into P!ATD. Urie disappeared for a moment when the lights went off after the track that came before Nine in the Afternoon. He reappeared emerging from a compartment under the stage, sitting at a big piano, playing the opening notes to one of my favorite songs. It was a great moment and my throat hurts from screaming in excitement. Urie played the track really well and it was like my middle-school dreams were finally a reality.

Miss Jackson

I actually wasn’t familiar with this song at all before I attended this show, but now I have it on repeat. Urie once stated that this song is about a girl that he sleeps with having sex with all of his friends. Another reason this song is so great is because the lyrics are fairly simple so by the end of the song, I was singing along to the chorus with everyone else.  P!ATD has changed it’s sound so much over the years, but the album this song is from, “Too Weird to Live, Too Young to Die” is one of my favorites because it’s just such a fun album to sing and dance to.

I Write Sins Not Tragedies

I couldn’t not mention this classic P!ATD jam. Urie played this close to the end of their set. He prefaced the song by saying, “This one’s for you. It’s a new one,” which was adorable and hilarious because IWSNT is obviously one of the oldest hits P!ATD has ever had. Another amazing Brendan moment was in the very first verse when he sings “the groomsbride is a whore,” he didnt sing the word whore, but let the audience say it. He then interjected very quickly, “you said it, not me.” His commentary during this song was honestly my favorite part of the concert and reminded me how in love with Urie I was and still am.

To Wrap It Up

I loved this concert because of all the nostalgia. Because P!ATD has been around since 2005, Urie and his band have become really great performers and they know how to put on a show. I expected to not enjoy all of the concert because I wouldn’t recognize the majority of the songs, but I was wrong and enjoyed every song they played. Another great part of the show was Urie’s tribute to the LGBTQ community. He played his song about gay rights, “Girls/Girls/Boys” and held up a pride banner. Afterwards, he gave a short, passionate speech about how there is a revolution coming and how he will be right along side us.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

